Four-time World Champion John Higgins joined North Lanarkshire's Sporting Hall of Fame in a special ceremony in Ravenscraig this week.

As well as Wishaw's Higgins, legendary Scottish sports stars such as The Lisbon Lions, Sir Matt Busby, Ricky Burns, The Renicks Sisters, Angela Robertson, Lynne McCafferty and Sandy Jones were among those awarded recognition at the Ravenscraig Sports Facility.

The full list of inductees includes:

• Ricky Burns, boxing

• Sir Matt Busby, football

• David Crabb, swimming

• John Higgins, snooker

• Sandy Jones, golf

• Budhi Kunderan, cricket

• Lisbon Lions, football

• Lynn McCafferty, handball

• Tom McKean, athletics

• Johnathan Paterson, football

• Louise & Kimberley Renicks, judo

• Angela Robertson (nee McDowell), swimming

Cllr Jim Logue, Leader of North Lanarkshire Council, said: ''Sport plays an important part in the rich heritage of our area. ''We were blessed with an abundance of candidates for our inaugural sports hall of fame. We were inundated with suggestions about possible candidates and the hall of fame has really caught the imagination of the people of North Lanarkshire.

''The deliberations of the judging panel were long and detailed. Some will argue for other names but no-one can argue about the contribution made by our inaugural inductees.''

''All our inductees are people who have made a huge contribution to sport at the highest level. They inspire us with their dedication and commitment to being the best, sometimes in the face of extreme adversity.''

''Their example is worth following, from competitiveness on the world stage to shaping the future of their sport, and from overcoming their own challenges to inspiring generations to participate in sport and exercise. ''It is fitting that these initial inductees will be recognised in our world-class facility at Ravenscraig. My hope is that young people from North Lanarkshire and beyond are inspired by them, not just to participate in sport but to learn the lessons of perseverance and dedication. ''It has been a pleasure to chair the judging panel and I would like to thank my fellow judges for their participation in what was a real challenge.''

''I would also like to thank the hundreds of people who took the time to let us know their views. Most of all, I would like to thank the inductees and their families for the way in which they have embraced the concept of a hall of fame.''

Related News

Alfie Burden Came Through A Nerve Shredding Battle With David Gilbert To Save His Professional Status

Many Many Happy Returns Of The Day Joy Mehra

At The Age Of 42, Ronnie O Sullivan Enjoyed Arguably The Best Season Of His 26-year Career In 2017/18.

Selby Is Also A Prolific Break-builder And Has Compiled More Than 500-century Breaks

A Look At The Total Number Of 147 Breaks Ever Scored In Snooker History And Who Made Them.

Lee Walker, Who Has Gone From Making His Maiden Ranking Semi-final Appearance Witness Close Friend Mark Williams Lift A Third Crucible Crown.

Jones Was The First Indian To Be A World Champion In Any Sport.

Chris Wakelin Is Hoping That Making His World Championship Debut Can Inspire Him To Lift A Maiden Ranking Title

Aditya Mehta Is The First Indian Player To Achieve 147

Eurosport Snooker Commentator David Hendon Has Become An Acclaimed Playwright.

Sam Craigie Bounced Back Immediately At Q School Last Month To Claim A Fresh Two-year Card.

20 Different Countries Represented By The 129 Players On The World Snooker Tour In 2018/19.

Since The Conception Of The Professional Tour, Elite Level Snooker Has Been 'striving For Perfection'

Could The 147th Maximum Break In Snooker History Be Made Next Season?

Kamal Chawla Stays No.1 After Finishing Both The Camps Of National 6 Reds Men

Top 10 Ranking Risers Who Made Biggest Move Up During The 2017/18 Season

See Top Stars In Preston Next Month

Heartiest Congratulations To Amee Kamani Who Ranked No.1 At 6red Women

Players Who Will Compete On The World Snooker Tour During The 2018/19 Season.

Brandon Sargeant Won The First Challenge Tour Event Of The Season, Beating Luke Simmonds 3-1 In The Final In Burton

Challenge Tour Event One Results To Sponsor Snooker' S European Masters

Challenge Tour Event One Draw And Format

12 Players To Earn A Two-year World Snooker Tour Card

Challenge Tour Prize Money