The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) is today pleased to announce the creation of an All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Snooker to support the sport in the United Kingdom.

The Group brings together Members of the House of Commons and House of Lords from all major parties. It will meet regularly in Parliament to hear from speakers working in snooker at all levels and discuss issues in the sport, as well as promoting snooker more widely both within Parliament and outside.

At a launch in Parliament today (9 January), Members of Parliament and Peers were joined by WPBSA Chairman Jason Ferguson and members of his team, who made a presentation outlining the work of the sport’s world governing body.

There was discussion of the social and economic contribution that snooker makes across the country, as well as specific areas in which the Group might be able to provide support. Over the coming weeks the Group will determine its priorities and activities for 2019.

The Group will be chaired by Conor Burns, Conservative MP for Bournemouth West and supported by five Vice-Chairs: Conor McGinn; Nick Smith; Gavin Newlands; Hannah Bardell and Neil Gray. Members will meet throughout the year to discuss all elements of snooker including the sport’s attempts to work alongside key stakeholders in sport delivery. Members will seek to raise concerns in Parliament regarding the status of snooker as a sport and support its grassroots initiatives, as well as promoting the considerable social and economic impact that the sport has across the country.

source - worldsnooker