Shaun Murphy won the 2019 Evergrande China Championship, beating Mark Williams 10-9 in a tremendous final.

Mark Selby won the title in 2018, beating John Higgins 10-9 in the final.

It was staged as a world ranking event for the first time in 2017. Luca Brecel won his first ranking title by beating Shaun Murphy 10-5 in the final.

The Evergrande China Championship took place for the first time in 2016, as an invitation event. It is staged in the city of Guangzhou in the Guangdong Province of South-East China. John Higgins beat Stuart Bingham 10-7 in the final.